Thursday, April 25, 2024
HomeSportsIPL 2020: Delhi Capitals enter Finals after beating Sunrisers Hyderabad by 17...

IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals enter Finals after beating Sunrisers Hyderabad by 17 runs

IPL 2020: In an all-round spectacular performance by Delhi Capitals, they have beaten Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 2 by 17 runs. Now they will be competing with defending champion Mumbai Indians on 10th November. 

- Advertisement -

Shreyas Iyer and Company with a professional show today. Batting first they put on a good total and they defended it excellently with their match-winner bowlers stepping up yet again, on the big night.

After winning the toss, Delhi Capitals decided to bat first. The decision was rightly proven by the openers of DC – Shikhar Dhawan and Marcus Stoinis. Together they put up 86 runs in 8.2 overs for the first wicket. The first breakthrough was provided by the key spinner of Sunriser’s Rashid Khan.

Captain Shreyas (21 of 20 balls) stood strongly for the second wicket with Shikhar Dhawan. Dhawan also showed maturity and scored a brilliant 78 of 50 balls. The finishing was done by Shimron Hetmyer who scored 42 in just 22 balls. Even with all this, at one time the score was looking to easily cross the 200 mark. However good depth bowling by Sunrisers Hyderabad restricted the score of Delhi Capitals on 189/3.

In reply, opener, and captain David Warner wasn’t able to contribute much and got out after scoring just 2 runs on a beautiful yorker by Rabada. Manish Pandey played few classic shots but got out on 21. It was Kane Williamson who showed maturity and experience in batting and stood strongly at one end. He got into partnership with Holder and later with Abdul Samad and scored a brilliant 67 from 45 balls. 

At one point when Samad (33 of 16 balls) and Williamson were batting, it was looking very much like Sunriser’s match, however quick wickets of both the players turned the complete scenario and Hyderabad managed to score only 172/8 in 20 overs.

Kagiso Rabada now the ‘Purple Cap’ holder

Kagiso Rabada bowled beautifully today and took 4 crucial wickets by giving 29 runs in his 4 overs. He is now 2nd highest wicket-taker in an IPL season!

Most wickets in an IPL season:
32 Dwayne Bravo (2013)
29 Kagiso Rabada (2020) *
28 Lasith Malinga (2011)
28 James Faulkner (2013)
27 Jasprit Bumrah (2020) 

Delhi Capitals Vs Mumbai Indians in finals

Delhi, which was thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the eliminator will meet them again in the finals. The IPL 2020 finals are on the day after tomorrow, i.e, 10th November. Mumbai Indians are the defending champion and Delhi Capitals have reached the IPL Finals for the first time!

Also Read Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals in style to qualify for IPL finals

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Don't Miss

- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of The Subsequent delivered directly to your inbox!

By signing up you agree to receive email newsletters or updates from The Subsequent News Agency, and you agree to our privacy policy and terms of service.
- Advertisment -